Thursday, March 31, 2011

The Twelve Tribes of Israel

the Twelve Tribes of Israel depicted in stained glass. An Israelite is a member of the Twelve Tribes of Israel, descended from the twelve sons of the Biblical patriarch Jacob who was renamed Israel by God in the book of Genesis, 32:28. the Twelve Tribes were the descendants of the children of Jacob, later known as Israel. His twelve male children were: Reuben, Simeon, Levi, Judah, Issachar, Zebulun, Dan, Gad, Naphtali, Asher, Joseph, and Benjamin. Twelve tribes of Israel are listed in the Tanakh (Hebrew Bible, Old Testament).

Twelve Tribes of Israel - Images by photostock-israel .

1 comment:

I welcome all comments